Droid Does Mini Review: HTC [eh…not so] Incredible

The HTC Droid Incredible, will launch on Verizon Wireless on the 29th of this month. I had a chance to get a FEW MINUTES of hands on time with this super specked machine of DOOM. How was it?

Honestly…I wasn’t super impressed. The reception lacked where my Motorola Droid got full service. Sure, it was snappy-but really any snappier than my MotoDroid? No. Not really.


let me say this. The phone is SEXY. It looks very nice, and is very aesthetically pleasing. The low reception was a DEALBREAKER for me. But that’s a whole different issue.

The Incredible, for all intents and purposes, the Droid Eris on Steroids. It’s bigger, faster, and all around better than its little sister the Eris. The 1ghz processor-worked exactly as I said it would. SLOW. At least for a device running at 1ghz. Like I said before, the Sense UI that HTC employs is a RESOURCE HOG. This phone wasnt very faster than my Droid-which at the moment is NOT rooted or overclocked.

One thing I did like, was the “expose” like home screen switcher. Double tap the home button and you get an Apple “expose” like view of your screens. Nifty, very nifty.

Basically, if you already have the Motorola Droid-don’t worry about this one. Root it, overclock it to 800mhz, and you’re good. If you have the Eris, or don’t have a smartphone at all, get the incredible. Its a sleek looking device.

Me personally? I’ll wait for the Droid2.0 or iPhone HD on Verizon. I do have an upgrade in September…..:)

HTC Droid Incredible (Verizon Wireless)
Overall Rating: 3 1/2 out of 5

Pros:
–SLEEK, stylish, pretty
–expose like screen switcher
–1ghz processor (on paper)

Cons:
–Sense UI is a RESOURCE hog. Looks pretty, but slaughters that processor to about 600-700mhz.

Price: $199.99 AFTER MIR WITH A NEW TWO YEAR CONTRACT (according to the internet)

Leave a Reply

