REVIEW: Captain America: He May of been the FIRST Avenger, but was he the BEST?

 

So a few weeks ago, I sat down to watch “Captain America: The First Avenger”-the latest film from Marvel studios. This was the last step, after “Iron Man” and “Iron Man 2”, “The Incredible Hulk” and “Thor” before piecing together an Avengers movie-because nobody cares about Hawkeye.

Allow me to preface this: I care so little for the character of Captain America-that its beyond fathomable. I care so little for him, as I do for Thor. Considering I Haven’t even half assed an attempt to finish WATCHING Thor-to give it a proper review-that should say a lot.

 

However. Chris Evans is a decent actor. Hugo Weaving can turn shit to gold-so I decided to give this one a shot. I’m glad I did. Was it the best comic book movie ever? No. That title still belongs to “The Dark Knight”-and always will. Was it the best comic book movie of 2011? Eh…I liked “X-Men: First Class” better….

was it good? Yes. Yes it was.

Chris Evans (really bad CGI for the first 35 minutes aside) was extremely good in the role of Steve Rogers. You could tell he wanted to serve his country-and its believable that a man of his conviction would willingly undergo special treatment to do so. You could also believe his frustrations with being stuck as a mascot for months-just making a complete mockery of what the troops were doing. So by the time he decided to go all vigilante on some Red Skull ass-you are happy for him and cheer him on as the hero he is.

Kudos.

As per usual-Hugo Weaving is gold-and is actually the ONLY thing keeping me through the first half hour. (Because seeing the hero get his ass kicked by some random dude in an alley does not evoke excitement. at all.) His portrayal of Red Skull was astounding. Here was a man in a modern world-obsessed with the fantastic. It really gave he and Cap a fine dynamic that I quite enjoyed.

Overall, “Captain America: The First Avenger” was a good flick. Not as mindless as say-Transformers 3….but not as rich as say, The Dark Knight. It kept my attention, and I will [most likely] be buying the blu ray later this year.

3 1/2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

